Deploying and Managing Changes to Devices in Deploy Mode

Deploy mode provides you with efficient and flexible means of deploying change in your network. Configuration changes or image upgrades can be deployed on multiple devices in a single job, and flexible scheduling options enable you to select the optimal times for deploying device changes.

Deploying Configuration Changes on Devices

Whenever you make a change to configuration in Build mode—for example, modify a profile, change a profile’s assignments, add an access point to a wireless LAN controller, and so on—the devices that are affected by the configuration change are automatically added to the Devices with Pending Changes list in Deploy mode, shown in Figure 9.

From the Devices with Pending Changes page, you can:

The configuration deployment is run as a job. After the job completes, you can view the status of the deployment.

Figure 9: Viewing Devices with Pending Changes

Viewing Devices
with Pending Changes

Managing and Installing Software Images

Deploy mode provides a software image repository where you can store and manage software images. You can then install these images on your managed devices. In one job, you can upgrade the software on multiple devices, as shown in Figure 10.

To help you better manage the potential service impacts of an image upgrade, Network Director enables you to separate the steps of upgrading an image—the staging (downloading) of the image, the installation of the image, and the device reboot—so that they can occur at different times. It also enables you to perform a hitless upgrade of wireless LAN controllers in a Virtual Controller Cluster.

Figure 10: Installing Images on Multiple Devices in One Job

Installing Images on Multiple
Devices in One Job

Resynchronizing Device Configurations

If you make configuration changes to a device outside of Network Director—for example, by using the device CLI—the configuration on the device might then conflict with the device configuration maintained by Network Director. Deploy mode provides a task that enables you to resynchronize the Network Director configuration with the device configuration. When you resynchronize the device configuration, Network Director reassigns existing profiles or creates new profiles as necessary to incorporate the configuration changes into its configuration for the device.

How Network Director performs resynchronization depends on the system of record (SOR) mode set for the Junos Space Network Management Platform. There are two possible modes:

You set the mode in Junos Space under Administration > Applications > Network Management Platform > Modify Application Settings.

This task also provides an option to reject and roll back configuration changes made outside of Network Director.

Managing Device Configurations

You can back up and archive device configurations on the Network Director server. Backups can be automated to occur on a recurring schedule. Network Director keeps track of the versions and enables you to compare archived versions with each other. If needed, you can restore an archived configuration to a device.