Deleting Sites, Buildings, Floors, Wiring Closets, and Devices
From the Build mode Tasks pane, you can delete any sites, buildings, floors, wiring closets and their associated devices. When you delete one of these objects, it removes not only that item but all child objects within the node. All associations related to the node and below are also removed. Devices are moved to the Unassigned node in the network tree. Be sure you understand what is being deleted on the node when you choose to delete a node.
For example, if you delete a building, it deletes the building, all floors, all wiring closets in that building. All of the devices in the building are moved to Unassigned in the network tree. When you delete a building, the site and any other buildings and their associations remain.
How to Delete a Location Object
- Ensure you are in the Build mode and Location view. Click Build in the Edge Services Director banner to enter Build mode; select Location View from the list in the View pane.
- Select any object within the site. The option to delete the object appears in the Tasks pane.
- Confirm the deletion of the object.
There is only one method of deleting a site: select the site in the Tasks pane and click Delete Site. Use caution with this selection. When you click Delete Site you are given the opportunity to confirm or cancel the deletion. If you confirm the deletion, you remove the site and everything in the site. All devices become unassigned and are not associated with any buildings, floors, or wiring closets.
When you delete a building, it removes the building, all floors, and all wiring closets within that building. All devices become unassigned and are not associated with the building, its floors, or its wiring closets. Only one building can be deleted at a time. To delete a building, select the building in the network tree and click Delete Building. Confirm the deletion to remove the objects and to disassociate the devices. If a site is deleted, all of the buildings within the site are also deleted.
When you delete a floor, it removes the selected floor and all wiring closets on that floor. All devices assigned to the floor or to the closets on that floor become unassigned and become available for reassignment. To delete a floor, select the floor in the network tree and click Delete Floor. Confirm the deletion to remove the objects and to disassociate the devices. If a site or building is deleted, the floors are also deleted.
When you delete a closet, it removes the selected closet and unassigns the devices in the closet. Those devices then become available for reassignment. To delete a closet, select the closet in the network tree and click Delete Closet. Confirm the deletion to remove the objects and to disassociate the devices. If a site, building, or floor is deleted, the associated closets are also deleted.
At every node in the network tree, you can choose to delete devices directly.
However, it is usually best to select the node directly above the device so that you do not accidently unassign more devices than desired.
Select the node (site, building, floor, or closet) directly above the device.
Click Delete Devices to open the Delete Devices page.
Click the plus signs to expand the node until you locate the device.
Click one or more boxes to select the devices. If you do not navigate down to the device level and select a node at a higher level (such a closet or floor), the system selects all devices at and below the node.
Click OK and confirm your selection to remove the assignment. The devices are moved to the Unassigned node of the network tree.