Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?


test-type (RFC 2544 Benchmarking)


Hierarchy Level


RFC 2544 defines four main test types. You can configure and perform a test for a certain service, such as IPv4 or Ethernet, and analyze the results of the test to examine the various SLA parameters of the service. The test packets traverse through the same path as the regular service traffic.

Configure the type of RFC 2544-based benchmarking test to be performed. Because of the ability of these tests to measure throughput, bursty frames, frame loss, and latency, this mechanism is also used to diagnose and examine Ethernet-based networks.



Measure the maximum rate at which none of the offered or transmitted frames are dropped by the device on which the test is performed.


Measure the time interval between the arrival of the last bit of the input frame at the input port and the output of the first bit of the frame on the output port.


Measure the percentage of frames that must have been forwarded by a network device under steady state (constant) load conditions, but were not forwarded due to lack of resources.


Measure the number of frames that are forwarded by the device on which the test is performed when a burst of frames with minimum inter-frame gaps is sent to that device from another source device.

Required Privilege Level

system—To view this statement in the configuration.

system-control—To add this statement to the configuration.

Release Information

Statement introduced in Junos OS Release 12.3X53 for ACX Series routers.