Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?




Hierarchy Level


Select preferred ciphers. Preferred ciphers allow you to define an SSL cipher that can be used with acceptable key strength. Ciphers are divided in three categories depending on their key strength: strong, medium, or weak.

Custom ciphers allow you to define your own cipher list. If you do not want to use one of the three categories, you can select ciphers from each of the categories to form a custom cipher set. To configure custom ciphers, you must set preferred-ciphers to custom.


  • custom—Configure custom cipher suite and order of preference.

  • medium—Use ciphers with key strength of 128 bits or greater.

  • strong—Use ciphers with key strength of 168 bits or greater.

  • weak—Use ciphers with key strength of 40 bits or greater.

Required Privilege Level

services—To view this statement in the configuration.

services-control—To add this statement to the configuration.

Release Information

Statement introduced in Junos OS Release 12.1X44-D10.