Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

 

User Accounts

 

The user account defines the unique username that is used to log in to JSA, and specifies which user role, security profile, and tenant assignments the user is assigned to.

When you initially configure your system, you must create user accounts for each user who requires access to JSA.

Creating a User Account

You can create new user accounts.

Before you can create a user account, you must ensure that the required user role and security profile are created.

When you create a new user account, you must assign access credentials, a user role, and a security profile to the user. User Roles define what actions the user has permission to perform. Security Profiles define what data the user has permission to access.

You can create multiple user accounts that include administrative privileges; however, any Administrator Manager user accounts can create other administrative user accounts.

  1. On the navigation menu (), click Admin to open the admin tab.
  2. On the navigation menu, click System Configuration >User Management.
  3. Click the Users icon.
  4. On the User Management toolbar, click New.
  5. Enter values for the following parameters:
    1. In the Username field, type a unique user name for the new user. The user name must contain a maximum 30 characters.

    2. In the Password field, type a password for the user to gain access.

      The password must meet the following criteria:

      • Minimum of 5 characters

      • Maximum of 255 characters

  6. Click Save.
  7. Close the User Details window.
  8. Close the User Management window.
  9. On the Admin tab menu, click Deploy Changes.

View Information About the Current User

You can view account information for the current user through the main product interface.

  1. In the top-right corner, click the arrow next to the user account name.
  2. Click User Preferences.
  3. Update the configurable user details.

    Option

    Description

    Parameter

    Description

    Email

    Type a new email address

    Password

    Type a new password

    Password (Confirm)

    Type the new password again

    Enable Popup Notifications

    Pop-up system notification messages are displayed at the lower right corner of the user interface. To disable pop-up notifications, clear this check box.

  4. Click Save.

Disabling a User Account

You can disable a user account to restrict a user from accessing JSA. The option to disable a user account temporarily revokes a user's access without deleting the account.

If the user with the disabled account attempts to log in, a message is displayed to inform the user that the user name and password are no longer valid. Items that the user created, such as saved searches and reports, remain associated with the user.

  1. On the navigation menu (), click Admin to open the admin tab.
  2. On the navigation menu, click System Configuration >User Management.
  3. Click the Users icon.
  4. In the Manage Users pane, click the user account that you want to disable.
  5. From the User Details window, select Disabled from the User Role list.
  6. Click Save.
  7. Close the User Details window.
  8. Close the User Management window.
  9. On the Admin tab menu, click Deploy Changes.

Deleting a User Account

If a user account is no longer required, you can delete the user account.

After you delete a user, the user no longer has access to the user interface. If the user attempts to log in, a message is displayed to inform the user that the user name and password is no longer valid. Items that a deleted user created, such as saved searches and reports remain associated with the deleted user.

To quickly locate the user account you want to delete on the User Management window, you can type the user name in the Search User text box on the toolbar.

  1. On the navigation menu (), click Admin to open the admin tab.
  2. On the navigation menu, click System Configuration >User Management.
  3. Click the Users icon.
  4. Select the user that you want to delete.
  5. On the toolbar, click Delete.
  6. Click OK.
  7. Close the User Management window.