Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Navigation
Guide That Contains This Content
[+] Expand All
[-] Collapse All

    Deleting a Node (Permanent)

    This section describes the process to permanently delete a node and all information related to the node in the IP/MPLSView files when it is no longer needed in the network model. Deleting a node is a four-step process that involves deleting it from the Map topology, Task Manager, Traffic Collection Manager, and Router Profile.

    • Map topology. Switch to Setup mode. In the Map window, right-click the node to delete, and select Delete Node. Click “Confirm” on the Setup panel to confirm the delete action. Switch to Monitor mode. Files located in the directories of .network and .Live Network will delete entries related to the node. The node will be deleted from the topology along with any links connected to it.

      Figure 1: Map - Delete Node

      Map - Delete Node
    • Task Manager. Open Admin > Task Manager, select all the tasks, right-click the task group, and select Remove Nodes in Scheduled Tasks. Enter the node name or IP address of the node to delete. Use one line per node entry. Click “OK” to commit the change. A confirmation message will appear if the node is successfully deleted from the scheduled task. All tasks will no longer collect data related to the deleted node.

      Figure 2: Task Manager - Remove Nodes in Scheduled Tasks

      Task Manager - Remove Nodes in Scheduled Tasks
    • Traffic Collection Manager. Open Performance > Traffic Collection Manager, right-click the node to delete, and select Delete. Click “OK“ at the delete prompt to delete the node from traffic collection. Click the Save icon from the menu to commit the change. Traffic data will no longer be collected from the deleted node. Note that if you select Remove instead of Delete, the node is moved into the Free Routers list and is still available for collection.

      Figure 3: Traffic Collection Manager - Delete Node

      Traffic Collection Manager - Delete Node
    • Router Profile. Open Admin > Task Manager > Router Profile, select all the profiles containing the node to delete, and click Delete. Click Save to commit the changes and save the Router Profiles. The node data will no longer be stored in the router profile. Note that if the node exists in multiple profiles, you should delete the node from each profile.

      Figure 4: Delete Node - Router Profile

      Delete Node - Router Profile

    After completing the four steps to delete the node from the Map topology, Task Manager, Traffic Collection Manager, and Router Profile, save the network specification file using File > Save Network.

    Modified: 2016-11-08