Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?


host (service-set)


Hierarchy Level


Specify the hostname for the system logging utility.

Starting in Junos OS Release 17.4R1, you can configure up to a maximum of four system log servers (combination of local system log hosts and remote system log collectors) for each service set at the [edit services service-set service-set-name] hierarchy level.


Starting with Junos OS release 14.1X55, 14.2R5, 15.1R3, and 16.1R1, for multiservices (ms-) interfaces, you cannot configure system logging for PCP and ALGs by including the pcp-logs and alg-logs statements at the [edit services service-set service-set-name syslog host hostname class] hierarchy level. An error message is displayed if you attempt to commit a configuration that contains the pcp-logs and alg-logs options to define system logging for PCP and ALGs for ms- interfaces.


hostname—Name of the system logging utility host machine.

From Junos OS Release 17.4R1, you can configure up to four system log hosts.

The remaining statements are explained separately. See CLI Explorer.

Required Privilege Level

interface—To view this statement in the configuration.

interface-control—To add this statement to the configuration.

Release Information

Statement introduced before Junos OS Release 7.4.

class option introduced in Junos OS Release 13.2.

You can configure multiple system log hosts from Junos OS Release 17.4R1 onwards.