Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?




Hierarchy Level


Define the traffic class map for a packet on the basis of the CoS code points.

Traffic class map is a user-configurable input priority map that helps prioritize and classify traffic entering a Packet Forwarding Engine during ingress oversubscription. You can define traffic class maps for a packet on the basis of the following CoS code points:

  • Differentiated Services code point (DSCP) for IP DiffServ

  • IP precedence bits

  • MPLS EXP bits

  • IEEE 802.1 bits

  • IEEE 802.1ad drop eligible indicator (DEI) bits

You can associate the code point values to one of the following traffic classes:

  • Real-time

  • Network control

  • Best-effort


dscp—DSCP traffic class map. Applies to both IPv4 and IPv6 traffic.

exp—MPLS EXP traffic class map.

ieee-802.1—IEEE 802.1 traffic class map.

ieee-802.1ad—IEEE 802.1ad traffic class map.

inet-precedence—IPv4 precedence traffic class map.

traffic-class-map-name—Name of the input priority map.

traffic-class best-effort—Map code points to a best-effort traffic class.

traffic-class network-control—Map code points to a network control traffic class.

traffic-class real-time—Map code points to a real-time traffic class.

code-points [code-point-alias | code-point-value]—List of code point aliases and bit strings.

Required Privilege Level

interface—To view this statement in the configuration.

interface-control—To add this statement to the configuration.

Release Information

Statement introduced in Junos OS Release 14.2.