Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?




Hierarchy Level


Configure the global EXP classifier used on all interfaces to classify MPLS traffic. You can configure up to 64 EXP classifiers. However, the switch uses only one EXP classifier as a global MPLS classifier on all interfaces. If you configure a global system default EXP classifier, then all switch interfaces use that EXP classifier to classify MPLS traffic.

On switches that have a default EXP classifier, if you do not configure a global system default classifier, interfaces configured as family mpls use the default EXP classifier.

On switches that do not have a default EXP classifier (QFX5100, QFX3500, QFX3600, QFabric systems, EX4600), if you do not configure a global system default EXP classifier, then if a fixed classifier is applied to the interface, the MPLS traffic uses the fixed classifier. If no EXP classifier and no fixed classifier are applied to the interface, MPLS traffic is treated as best-effort traffic using the IEEE 802.1 default untrusted classifier. DSCP classifiers are not applied to MPLS traffic. Because the EXP classifier is global, you cannot configure some ports to use a fixed IEEE 802.1p classifier for MPLS traffic on some interfaces and the global EXP classifier for MPLS traffic on other interfaces. When you configure a global EXP classifier, all MPLS traffic on all interfaces uses the EXP classifier.


The remaining statements are explained separately. See CLI Explorer.

Required Privilege Level

interfaces—To view this statement in the configuration.interface-control—To add this statement to the configuration.

Release Information

Statement introduced in Junos OS Release 12.3X50.