Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?


retransmission-interval (DHCP Client)


Hierarchy Level


Specify the initial retransmission interval. Successive retransmission intervals are doubled as per RFC2131.


Though the SRX Series Firewalls implement the exponential backoff, as described in RFC 2131, the retransmit attempt does not stop when the retransmission interval reaches 64 seconds. The packet is transmitted till the retransmission attempt is reached. For example, if you configure the retransmission-attempt to 5 and the retransmission-interval to 20, the sequence of retransmission-interval is 20, 40, 80, 160, 320.



Number of seconds before initial retransmission.

Range: The range is 4 through 64. The default is 4 seconds.

Required Privilege Level

interface—To view this statement in the configuration.

interface-control—To add this statement to the configuration.

Release Information

Statement introduced in Junos OS Release 12.1X44-D10.

Starting with Junos OS Release 17.3R1, on all SRX Series Firewalls and vSRX Virtual Firewall instances, the CLI option dhcp-clinet at [edit interfaces interface-name unit logical-unit-number family inet] hierarchy is changed to dhcp to keep consistent with other Junos platforms. There is no change in the functionality with the changed CLI option dhcp.