Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?


retry-count (Chassis Cluster)


Hierarchy Level


Specify the number of consecutive ping attempts that must fail before an IP address monitored by the redundancy group is declared unreachable in IP address monitoring.

In the IP address monitoring, you can configure redundancy groups to monitor upstream resources by pinging specific IP addresses that are reachable through redundant Ethernet interfaces on either node in a cluster. In this configuration, the retry interval determines the ping interval for each IP address monitored by the redundancy group and the retry count sets the number of allowed consecutive ping failures for each IP address monitored by the redundancy group.

(See retry-interval (Chassis Cluster) for a related redundancy group IP address monitoring variable.)


number—Number of consecutive ping attempt failures before a monitored IP address is declared unreachable.

  • Default: 5

  • Range: 5-15

Required Privilege Level

interface—To view this statement in the configuration.

interface-control—To add this statement to the configuration.

Release Information

Statement introduced in Junos OS Release 10.1.