Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?


redundancy-group (Chassis Cluster)


Hierarchy Level


Define a redundancy group. Except for redundancy group 0, a redundancy group is a logical interface consisting of two physical Ethernet interfaces, one on each chassis. One interface is active, and the other is on standby. When the active interface fails, the standby interface becomes active. The logical interface is called a redundant Ethernet interface (reth).

Redundancy group 0 consists of the two Routing Engines in the chassis cluster and controls which Routing Engine is primary. You must define redundancy group 0 in the chassis cluster configuration.



Redundancy group identification number.


The maximum number of redundancy groups is equal to the number of redundant Ethernet interfaces that you configure.

  • Range: 0 through 128


Specify a redundancy group interface to be monitored for failover and the relative weight of the interface.


Specify IP address of interface to be monitored for end-to-end connectivity.


Number of gratuitous ARPs to send on an active interface after failover

  • Range: 1-16


RG failover interval. RG0(300-1800) RG1+(0-1800) (seconds)

  • Range: 0-1800


Identify each cluster node in a redundancy group and set its relative priority for primary role.


Allow preemption of the primary system based on the priority within a redundancy group.

The remaining statements are explained separately. See CLI Explorer.

Required Privilege Level

interface—To view this statement in the configuration.

interface-control—To add this statement to the configuration.

Release Information

Statement introduced in Junos OS Release 9.0.