Technical Documentation

Using Rescue (J Series Routing Platforms Only)

If someone inadvertently commits a configuration that denies management access to a routing platform, you can delete the invalid configuration and replace it with a rescue configuration. You must have previously set the rescue configuration through the J-Web interface or the CLI. The rescue configuration is a previously committed, valid configuration.

To view, set, or delete the rescue configuration, select Maintain>Rescue. On the Rescue page (see Figure 1), you can perform the following tasks:

  • View the current rescue configuration (if one exists)—Click View rescue configuration.
  • Set the current running configuration as the rescue configuration—Click Set rescue configuration. On a J Series routing platform, you can also press the CONFIG or RESET CONFIG button.
  • Delete the current rescue configuration—Click Delete rescue configuration.

Figure 1: Rescue Configuration Page

Image s041134.gif


Published: 2010-04-29