Technical Documentation

Using the configure exclusive Command

If you enter configuration mode with the configure exclusive command, you lock the candidate global configuration (also known as the shared configuration or shared configuration database) for as long as you remain in configuration mode, allowing you to make changes without interference from other users. Other users can enter and exit configuration mode, but they cannot change the configuration.

If another user has locked the configuration, and you need to forcibly log the person out, enter the operational mode command request system logout pid pid_number.

If you enter configuration mode and another user is also in configuration mode and has locked the configuration, a message identifies the user and the portion of the configuration that the user is viewing or editing:

user@host> configure Entering configuration modeUsers currently editing the configuration:root terminal p3 (pid 1088) on since 2000-10-30 19:47:58 EDT, idle 00:00:44exclusive [edit interfaces so-3/0/0 unit 0 family inet]

In configure exclusive mode, any uncommitted changes are discarded when you exit:

user@host> configure exclusive warning: uncommitted changes will be discarded on exitEntering configuration mode[edit]user@host# set system host-name cool [edit]user@host# quit The configuration has been changed but not committedwarning: Auto rollback on exiting 'configure exclusive'Discard uncommitted changes? [yes,no] (yes) warning: discarding uncommitted changesload completeExiting configuration mode

When you use the yes option to exit configure exclusive mode, JUNOS Software discards your uncommitted changes and rolls backs your configuration. The no option allows you to continue editing or to commit your changes in configure exclusive mode.

When a user exits from configure exclusive mode while another user is in configure private mode, JUNOS Software will roll back any uncommitted changes.


Published: 2010-04-27