Technical Documentation

Configuring the JUNOS Software to Prevent the Resetting of the Factory Default or Rescue Configuration During Current Configuration Failure on J Series Routers

On J Series Services Routers, if the current configuration fails, you can load a rescue configuration or the factory default configuration by pressing the CONFIG (Reset) button:

  • Rescue configuration—When you press and quickly release the CONFIG button, the configuration LED blinks green and the rescue configuration is loaded and committed. The rescue configuration is user defined and must be set previously for this operation to be successful.
  • Factory defaults—When you hold the CONFIG button for more than 15 seconds, the configuration LED blinks red and the router is set back to the factory default configuration.

    Caution: When you set the router back to the factory default configuration, the current committed configuration and all previous revisions of the router’s configuration are deleted.

To limit how the CONFIG button resets a router configuration, include one or both of the following statements at the [edit chassis] hierarchy level:

[edit chassis]config-button {no-clear;no-rescue;}

no-clear—Prevents resetting the router to the factory default configuration. You can still press and quickly release the button to reset to the rescue configuration (if one was set previously).

no-rescue—Prevents resetting the router to the rescue configuration. You can still press and hold the button for more than 15 seconds to reset to the factory default configuration.

When both the no-clear and no-rescue statements are present, the CONFIG button does not reset to either configuration.


Published: 2010-04-26