Files

Managing Files with the J-Web Interface

This section contains the following topics:

Cleaning Up Files

You can use the J-Web interface to rotate log files and delete unnecessary files on the services router. If you are running low on storage space, the file cleanup procedure quickly identifies files that can be deleted.

The file cleanup procedure performs the following tasks:

To rotate log files and delete unnecessary files with the J-Web interface:

  1. In the J-Web interface, select Maintain>Files.
  2. In the Clean Up Files section, click Clean Up Files. The device rotates log files and identifies the files that can be safely deleted.

    The J-Web interface displays the files that you can delete and the amount of space that will be freed on the file system.

  3. Click one of the following buttons on the confirmation page:
    • To delete the files and return to the Files page, click OK.
    • To cancel your entries and return to the list of files in the directory, click Cancel.

Downloading Files

You can use the J-Web interface to download a copy of an individual file from the services router. When you download a file, it is not deleted from the file system.

To download files with the J-Web interface:

  1. In the J-Web interface, select Maintain>Files.
  2. In the Download and Delete Files section, click one of the following file types:
    • Log Files—Lists the log files located in the /var/log directory on the device.
    • Temporary Files—Lists the temporary files located in the /var/tmp directory on the device.
    • Old Junos OS—Lists the software images located in the (*.tgz files) in the /var/sw/pkg directory on the device.
    • Crash (Core) Files—Lists the core files located in the /var/crash directory on the device.

      The J-Web interface displays the files located in the directory.

  3. To download an individual file, click Download.
  4. Choose a location for the browser to save the file.

    The file is downloaded.

Deleting Files

You can use the J-Web interface to delete an individual file from the services router. When you delete the file, it is permanently removed from the file system.

Caution: If you are unsure whether to delete a file from the device, we recommend using the Cleanup Files tool described in Unresolved xref. This tool determines which files can be safely deleted from the file system.

To delete files with the J-Web interface:

  1. In the J-Web interface, select Maintain>Files.
  2. In the Download and Delete Files section, click one of the following file types:
    • Log Files—Lists the log files located in the /var/log directory on the device.
    • Temporary Files—Lists the temporary files located in the /var/tmp directory on the device.
    • Old Junos OS—Lists the software images in the (*.tgz files) in the /var/sw/pkg directory on the device.
    • Crash (Core) Files—Lists the core files located in the /var/crash directory on the device.

    The J-Web interface displays the files located in the directory.

  3. Check the box next to each file you plan to delete.
  4. Click Delete.

    The J-Web interface displays the files you can delete and the amount of space that will be freed on the file system.

  5. Click one of the following buttons on the confirmation page:
    • To delete the files and return to the Files page, click OK.
    • To cancel your entries and return to the list of files in the directory, click Cancel.

Deleting the Backup Software Image

Junos OS keeps a backup image of the software that was previously installed so that you can downgrade to that version of the software if necessary. You can use the J-Web interface to delete this backup image. If you delete this image, you cannot downgrade to this particular version of the software.

To delete the backup software image:

  1. In the J-Web interface, select Maintain>Files.
  2. In the Delete Backup Junos Package section, review the backup image information listed.
  3. To delete the backup image, click the Delete backup Junos package link.
  4. Click one of the following buttons on the confirmation page:
    • To delete the backup image and return to the Files page, click OK.
    • To cancel the deletion of the backup image and return to the Files page, click Cancel.