Managing Licenses for vSRX

 

Before you begin, ensure that you have retrieved the license key from theJuniper Agile Licensing (JAL) Portal.

For more information on Juniper Agile Licensing (JAL) Portal, see Juniper Agile Licensing (JAL) Portal - Frequently Asked Questions

This section includes the following topics:

vSRX Evaluation License Installation Process

Juniper Networks provides a 60-day evaluation license for vSRX standard features. When you download and install the vSRX image, you are entitled to use this evaluation license for 60 days as a trial. In addition to the 60-day vSRX evaluation license, there is a 30-day advanced security features trial license for vSRX that is required for advanced security features such as UTM, IDP, and AppSecure.

You can download the 30-day advanced security feature trial license from the vSRX Free Trial License Page.

There is also a 30-day trial license available for Juniper Sky Advanced Threat Prevention (ATP). This is a second license that you can apply for a 30-day period in addition to the advanced security features license for vSRX to enable the Sky ATP features. You can download the Sky ATP trial license from the vSRX Free Trial License Page

Installation of the advanced security feature trial license is similar to the regular license installation performed from the CLI (see Adding a New License Key from the CLI).

Within 30 days of the license expiration date, a license expiration warning appears each time you log in to the vSRX instance. After the product evaluation license expires, you will not be able to use the vSRX; it will be disabled and flow configuration options will not work (the vSRX will stop forwarding traffic). At this point, only management interfaces and CLI configurations are preserved.

Note

The 30-day evaluation license period begins on the day you enable enhanced security features after installing evaluation licenses.

To continue using vSRX features after an optional 30-day evaluation period, you must purchase and install the license. Otherwise, the features are disabled.

For details about the 60- and 30-day license evaluation periods for the vSRX see vSRX Feature Licenses Overview .

Adding a New License Key with J-Web

To install a license using the J-Web interface:

  1. Select Maintain>Licenses on the J-Web user interface. The Licenses window is displayed as shown in Figure 1.
    Figure 1: J-Web Licenses Window
    J-Web Licenses Window
  2. Under Installed Licenses, click Add. The Add License window is displayed as shown in Figure 2.
    Figure 2: Add License Window
    Add License Window
  3. Do one of the following, using a blank line to separate multiple license keys:

    • Enter the full URL to the destination file containing the license key in the License File URL box.

    • Paste the license key text, in plaintext format, in the License Key Text box.

  4. Click OK to add the license key. The License Details window is displayed as shown in Figure 3.
    Figure 3: License Details Window
    License Details Window

The license key is installed and activated on the vSRX instance.

Adding a New License Key from the CLI

You can add a license key from a local file, from a remote URL, or from the terminal.

To install a license from the CLI:

  1. Use the request system license add operational mode command to either add the license from a local file or remote URL that contains the license key, or to manually paste the license key in the terminal.
    user@vsrx> request system license add terminal
    Note

    You can save the license key to a file and upload the file to the vSRX file system through FTP or Secure Copy (SCP), and then use the request system license add file-name command to install the license.

  2. Optionally, use the show system license command to view details of the licenses.

The license key is installed and activated on the vSRX instance.

Updating vSRX Licenses

You can update the vSRX licenses using either of the following two methods:

  • Automatic license update using the CLI

  • Manual license update using the CLI

As a prerequisite, you must install at least one valid license key on your vSRX instance for required features. Automatic license updates as well as manual license updates are performed based on a valid software serial number and customer ID embedded in the license key.

To enable automatic license updates from the CLI:

  1. Contact your account team or Juniper Networks Customer Care to extend the validity period of existing license keys and obtain the URL for a valid update server.
  2. Once you have successfully extended your license key and received the update server URL, configure the auto-update parameter:
  3. Configure renew options (if required). The following sample allows vSRX to contact the license server 30 days before the current license expires and sends an automatic update request every 6 hours.

To manually update the licenses from the CLI:

  1. Use the following command to update the license keys manually:

    This command sends a license update request to the license server immediately.

    Note

    The request system license update command will always use the default Juniper license server: https://ae1.juniper.net

  2. Check the status of the license by entering the show system license command.

Deleting a License with J-Web

To delete a license using the J-Web interface:

  1. Select Maintain>Licenses.
  2. Select the check box of the license or licenses you want to delete as shown in Figure 4.
    Figure 4: Deleting a License
    Deleting a License
  3. Click Delete.
  4. Click OK to confirm your deletion as shown in Figure 5.
    Figure 5: Delete Licenses Window
     Delete Licenses
Window

    The license you deleted is removed.

Deleting a License with the CLI

To delete a license using the CLI:

  1. From operational mode, for each license, enter the following command and specify the license ID. You can delete only one license at a time.

    Or you can use the following command to delete all installed licenses.

  2. Type yes when you are prompted to confirm the deletion.

    The license you deleted is removed.

License Warning Messages

You must purchase a new license or renew your existing subscription-based license to have a seamless transition from the old license to the new one.

The following conditions occur when a license expires on vSRX:

  • Evaluation license for the core expires—Packet forwarding on vSRX is disabled. However, you can manage vSRX through the fxp0 management interface, and the CLI configuration is preserved.

  • Subscription-based licenses for advanced security features expire but subscription-based licenses for core services are active—A 30-day grace period begins, allowing the user to continue using advanced security features. After the grace period, advanced security features are disabled. Basic features are always available in the vSRX. After subscription-based licenses for core services expire, a warning message is displayed to notify the user, but basic features will remain preserved for the user.

  • Subscription-based license for core features expires but subscription-based license for advanced security features is active—A warning message is displayed to notify the user. However, you can continue to use the basic features on the vSRX. Advanced security features are disabled when the subscription-based license for advanced security features expires, but basic features will remain preserved for the user.

Note

All subscription licenses are renewable. To renew a subscription license, purchase a new subscription of the same license. For more information, see Subscription - Register and Install .

To use features that require a license, you must install and configure a license. After the license expires, warning messages are displayed in the system log and on the J-Web dashboard.

When a license expires, the System Alarms section of the J-Web dashboard displays a message stating that the license has expired as shown in Figure 6.

Figure 6: J-Web Dashboard for License Expiry Warning
J-Web Dashboard for License
Expiry Warning

When a license expires, the following message appears when you log in: