Deleting a Statement from the Configuration

Deleting a statement or an identifier effectively “unconfigures” the functionality associated with that statement or identifier, returning that functionality to its default condition.

To delete a statement or identifier:

When you delete a statement, the statement and all its subordinate statements and identifiers are removed from the configuration.

For statements that can have more than one identifier, when you delete one identifier, only that identifier is deleted. The other identifiers in the statement remain.

To delete the entire hierarchy starting at the current hierarchy level:

Examples: Deleting a Statement from the Configuration

Configure the SRC aggregate-services statements, then delete these statements from the [edit] level. Using the delete command effectively unconfigures the SAE properties for aggregate-services in the SRC software:

[edit]
user@host#  set shared sae configuration aggregate-services keepalive-time 172800
[edit]
user@host#  set shared sae configuration aggregate-services keepalive-retry-time 900
[edit]
user@host#  set shared sae configuration aggregate-services activation-deactivation-time 900
[edit]
user@host#  set shared sae configuration aggregate-services failed-notification-retry-time 86400
[edit]
user@host#  show  
. . .
shared { 
  sae { 
    configuration { 
      aggregate-services { 
        keepalive-time 172800;
        keepalive-retry-time 900;
        activation-deactivation-time 900;
        failed-notification-retry-time 86400;
      }
    }
   . . .
  }
}
[edit]
user@host#  delete shared sae configuration aggregate-services  
[edit]
user@host#  show shared sae configuration aggregate-services  

Configure the aggregate-services statements, then delete these statements from the [edit shared sae configuration aggregate-services] level:

[edit]
user@host#  set shared sae configuration aggregate-services keepalive-time 172800
[edit]
user@host#  set shared sae configuration aggregate-services keepalive-retry-time 900
[edit]
user@host#  set shared sae configuration aggregate-services activation-deactivation-time 900
[edit]
user@host#  set shared sae configuration aggregate-services failed-notification-retry-time 86400
[edit]
user@host#  edit shared sae configuration aggregate-services  
[edit shared sae configuration aggregate-services]
user@host#  delete  
Delete everything under this level? [yes,no] (no)  yes
[edit shared sae configuration aggregate-services]
user@host#  show
[edit shared sae configuration aggregate-services]
user@host#

Remove the configuration for a specific property (routing-options):

[edit]
user@host# set routing-options static route 192.0.2.20/24 reject
[edit]
user@host# show 
. . .
static { 
  route 192.0.2.20/24 {
    reject;
  }
}
. . .
[edit]
user@host# delete routing-options 
[edit]
user@host# edit routing-options
[edit routing-options]
user@host# show 

Related Documentation