Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Navigation
Guide That Contains This Content
[+] Expand All
[-] Collapse All

    Defining Default Options for User Roles

    You can define default options for all user roles, just as you can for delegated administrator roles. Default values are used for newly created roles or for roles where the session or UI option checkboxes are not selected in the User > User Roles > UserName > General > Overview window.

    The default options include, but are not limited to:

    • Session Options
      • Session lifetime—Define the idle timeout, maximum session length, and reminder time in minutes.
      • Enable session timeout warning—Determine whether to display warning and login page.
      • Roaming Session—Define level of mobility access.
      • Persistent Session—Define state across browser instances.
      • Persistent password caching—Define password state across sessions.
      • Browser request follow-through—Define response to browser session expiration.
      • Idle timeout application activity—Define SA Series Appliance response to application session activity.
    • UI Options
      • Header—Define the logo and background color.
      • Sub-headers—Define the background and text color.
      • Start page—Define which page appears after the user logs in.
      • Bookmarks Panel Arrangement—Define the panels that appear on the user’s bookmark page.
      • Help Page—Display standard or custom help.
      • User Toolbar—Define the links that appear on a user’s home page.
      • Browsing toolbar—Define the links that appear when a user is browsing an external website.
      • Personalized Greeting—Display user’s name and notification message on the user’s welcome page.
      • Bookmarks Panel Arrangement Other—Show copyright notice.

    Defining Default Options for User Roles

    To define the default options for all user roles:

    1. Select Users > User Roles.
    2. Click Default Options.
    3. Modify settings in the Session Options, UI Options, and Custom Messages tabs.
    4. Click Save Changes. These become the new defaults for all new user roles.

    If you do not want user roles to see the copyright notice, you can also clear the Show copyright notice and “Secured by Juniper Networks” label in footers check box for user roles, in general. That way, all subsequent roles you create do not allow the notice to appear on the end user UI.

    Published: 2011-03-14