Technical Documentation

Using the Reset Config Button on the SRX 210 Services Gateway

If a configuration fails or denies management access to the services gateway, you can use the Reset Config button to restore the device to the factory default configuration or a rescue configuration. For example, if someone inadvertently commits a configuration that denies management access to a services gateway, you can delete the invalid configuration and replace it with a rescue configuration by pressing the Reset Config button. The button is recessed to prevent it from being pressed accidentally.

The rescue configuration is a previously committed, valid configuration. You must have previously set the rescue configuration through the J-Web interface or the CLI.

To press the Reset Config button, insert a small probe (such as a straightened paper clip) into the pinhole on the front panel.

  • By default, pressing and quickly releasing the Reset Config button loads and commits the rescue configuration through the J-Web interface or the CLI. (For details, see the JUNOS CLI User Guide.)
  • By default, pressing and holding the Reset Config button for 15 seconds or more—until the Status LED blinks red—deletes all configurations on the device, including the backup configurations and rescue configuration, and loads and commits the factory configuration. (For details about the factory default settings, see the JUNOS Software with Enhanced Services Administration Guide.)