Technical Documentation

Discarding Parts of a Candidate Configuration

Before committing a candidate configuration, you can discard changes you applied or delete existing statements or identifiers.

To discard parts of a candidate configuration:

  1. Navigate to the level of the hierarchy you want to edit and click Discard.

    The main pane displays a list of target statements based on the hierarchy level and the changes you have made.

  2. Select an option button (also known as a radio button) to specify the appropriate discard operation or deletion. (Not all buttons appear in all situations.)
    • Discard Changes Below This Point— Discards changes made to the candidate configuration at the displayed hierarchy level and below. All subordinate statements and identifiers contained within a discarded statement are also discarded.
    • Discard All Changes— Discards all changes made to the candidate configuration.
    • Delete Configuration Below This Point— Deletes all changes and statements in the candidate configuration at the displayed hierarchy level and below. All subordinate statements and identifiers contained within a deleted statement are also deleted.
  3. To confirm the discard operation or deletion, click OK.

    To cancel a discard operation or deletion, click Cancel.

The updated candidate configuration does not take effect on the switching platform until you commit it.

Related Topics