Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Edit, Clone, and Delete Roles

 

To edit, clone, and delete roles, you should be an administrator or user with the privilege to edit, clone, and delete roles.

Edit a Role

Note

You cannot edit predefined roles.

To edit the parameters configured for a custom role:

  1. Select Administration > User Management > Roles.

    The Roles page appears, displaying the details of the available roles.

  2. Select the role that you want to edit and click the Edit icon (pencil) to modify the attributes.

    The Edit Role page appears. The fields on the Edit Role page are available for editing.

    Note

    You cannot modify the role name and role scope.

  3. Modify the role description and privileges as needed.
  4. Click OK to save the changes.

    A message indicating that the role is successfully edited appears and the updated role information is displayed in the Roles table.

Clone a Role

You can clone a role (both custom and predefined) when you want to quickly create a copy of an existing role and modify its access privileges.

To clone a role:

  1. Select Administration > User Management > Roles.

    The Roles page appears, displaying the details of the available roles.

  2. Select the role that you want to clone and then click the Clone button at the top-right corner of the page.

    The Clone Role Role-Name page appears.

  3. Specify an appropriate name for the cloned role.

    The name can contain alphanumeric characters, underscore, period, and space; 32-characters maximum.

  4. Click OK to save your changes.

    A clone of the role is created and listed on the Roles page.

  5. Select the new cloned role and click the Edit icon (pencil) to modify the parameters.

    The Edit Role page appears.

  6. Select the objects, and modify the access privileges of the role, as needed.Note

    You cannot modify the role name and role scope.

  7. Click OK to save your changes.

    A confirmation message appears, indicating the status of the edit operation.

Delete a Role

You cannot delete a predefined role or if it is assigned to a user.

To delete a role:

  1. Select Administration > User Management > Roles.

    The Roles page appears, displaying the details of the available roles.

  2. Select a role that you want to delete and then click the Delete (trashcan) icon.

    A message appears, asking you to confirm the delete operation.

  3. Click Yes to delete the selected role.

    A confirmation message appears, indicating that the selected role is deleted and the role is no longer listed on the Roles page.