Supported EAP Types

The supported EAP types are displayed in Table 87.

Table 87: Supported EAP Types



EAP-TLS (Transport Layer Security)

EAP—TLS is the most common EAP derivative and is supported by most RADIUS servers. EAP-TLS uses certificates for user and server authentication and for dynamic session key generation.

EAP-TTLS (Tunneled Transport Layer Security)

EAP-TTLS requires only a server-side certificate and a valid username and password for authentication. Steel-Belted RADIUS supports TTLS.

EAP-PEAP (Protected EAP)

EAP-PEAP compensates for the lack of features in EAP-TLS and reduces management complexity. It requires only server-side certificates and a valid username and password. It provides support for key exchange, session resumption, fragmentation, and reassembly. Steel-Belted RADIUS and Microsoft IAS support Protected EAP.

EAP-MD5 (Message Digest Algorithm 5)

Algorithm that uses a challenge and response process to verify MD5 hashes.

Related Documentation