Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

 

Web Planner Top Menu Bar

 

The left side of the top menu bar in the NorthStar Planner web UI (all views) displays the main menu icon at the far left (horizontal bars), the name of the currently open network, the protocol the network is using, and the currently selected layer (Tunnel Layer or Layer 3). The right side of the top menu bar displays icons that provide viewing and administrative functions. See Figure 1.

Figure 1: Top Menu Bar
Top Menu Bar
Note

Many of these options are only available when you have an active session.

Click the network icon (world) for a drop-down list of saving and closing options:

  • Save

    Saves your work to the NorthStar data directory. This option is only available when you open a network from the My Networks tab. To save one of the other network types, use the Save As option.

  • Save As

    Saves a network to the NorthStar data directory. The Save As window prompts you for a network name and an optional description. The saved network is then available to you from the My Networks tab.

    Note

    Spaces and most special characters are not allowed in network names. Hyphens and underscores are allowed. These restrictions do not apply to descriptions.

  • Load

    Loads one of the many files that comprise the current model. You can use the Load option to modify the current model since a direct Modify function is not yet available. The workflow is to download a file, modify it, save it, and then upload the edited version, refreshing the model. See Loading Network Files for the procedure.

  • Close

    Closes the network you currently have open. The name of the open network disappears from the upper right corner of the Planner window. If you are in any main view other than Network Browser when you close the network, the display returns to Network Browser where you can select a network to open.

    It’s completely fine to log out of Planner or close your browser without explicitly closing your session; the session will be available for you to resume your work when you log back in because it is still active on the server. This can save you considerable loading time when you start work again. However, we do recommend that you save the session periodically and before you leave it for a period of time (overnight, for example).

    Note

    Remember that if you explicitly close a network without saving it, your work is not preserved.

    You can have multiple sessions active on the server, but be aware that each one consumes one Planner license. Also, although you can have multiple sessions active on the server, your browser can be connected to only one at a time. If you have one open in your browser and you open another, it will replace the first.

Click the Layers icon (stacked squares) to select either Layer 3 or Tunnel/Layer 2 for display and simulations. Layer 3 is the default. You can always see which layer is currently selected by looking on the left side of the upper menu bar.

The Update Network icon (clock and arrow) updates the network with changes from the server. NorthStar Planner does not have a way to listen for server changes, but it does get messages from the server when there have been changes. When Planner receives update messages, it changes the color of the Update Network icon to indicate that updates are pending. You can then choose a convenient time to click the Update Network icon and refresh the display.

Click the user icon in the upper right corner of the Planner window to log out of NorthStar Planner.

Click the More Items icon (vertical dots) to select one of the following options:

  • View Active Users

    Select View Active Users to display a list of users currently logged into the Planner as shown in Figure 2.

    Figure 2: Active Users Window
    Active Users Window

    The Current Baseline column shows the name of the network each user has open.

    Note

    At this time, there is no user management in the NorthStar Planner web UI. New users must be created in the NorthStar Controller. See User Management.

  • View Console

    View Console is only available in Topology View. When you select this option, the console opens on the right side of the Planner window as shown in Figure 3.

    Figure 3: Console Window
    Console Window

    The console displays information when loading a network, reading files, running failure simulation, generating reports, and various other functions. You can use the console to trace through information in detail.

Related Documentation