Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

 

Subscribers and System Settings

 

You can access Subscribers and System Settings by selecting Administration from the More Options menu in the upper right corner of the NorthStar Controller UI. These options are visible to and accessible by the Admin user only.

Subscribers

The Admin can assign users to receive system messages by navigating to Administration > Subscribers. Click Add in the upper right corner of the Subscriber Management window to display the Add Subscriber window as shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1: Add Subscriber Window
Add Subscriber Window

Enter the email address of the user to be subscribed (under Profile) and select the type of system messages to be received (under Subscriptions). Only disk space notifications are available at this time. Click Submit to complete the subscription. See General System Settings for information about customizing disk space notifications.

Once subscribed, the user receives system messages and can then take the appropriate action.

Note

In addition to adding subscribers, the Admin must also navigate to Administration > System Settings and ensure that the SMTP Mail Server is enabled in the Outgoing Mail section. If the mail server is disabled, subscribers cannot receive system messages.

You can modify or delete existing subscribers by clicking Modify or Delete in the upper right corner of the Subscriber Management window.

System Settings

Navigate to Administration>System Settings from the More Options menu to access the general system settings shown in Figure 2:

Figure 2: General System Settings
General System Settings

In the upper right corner of the General Settings window is an Advanced Settings button. This button allows you to toggle back and forth between general and advanced system settings. The advanced system settings are shown in Figure 3.

Figure 3: Advanced System Settings
Advanced System Settings

General System Settings

The general settings are described in Table 1.

Table 1: General System Setting Descriptions

Setting

Description

User Inactivity Timer

When enabled, users are automatically logged out of the NorthStar Controller after the specified period of inactivity. The timer is disabled by default. To enable it, select Enable and enter the time in minutes.

Link Flap Behavior

Link flap can be enabled or disabled, and is disabled by default. There are two parameters involved:

  • “seconds” sets the link flap interval. When link flap behavior is enabled, NorthStar scans all links every five seconds. If a link stays in the same Up/Down status longer than the link flap interval, its counter is reset and the link is no longer considered flapped.

  • “maximum” sets the maximum link flap count. When a link goes from Up to Down, NorthStar increments the counter on that link. When the counter reaches the maximum link flap count, the link is considered flapped. Flapped links carry a large penalty, so are not preferred by the PCS.

Provisioning

Provisioning can be globally enabled or disabled for all users, and is enabled by default. Disabling provisioning does not prevent users from accessing and using the provisioning functions in the UI, but it does prevent those actions from taking effect in the network. This allows you to respond to periods of network instability by preventing the additional strain on the system that might result from provisioning going on at the same time.

Zero Bandwidth Signaling

When set to On, NorthStar can optimize resource utilization more effectively and more aggressively. When set to Off, some LSPs may not be routed due to bandwidth overbooking when a Make Before Break (MBB) operation is performed.

SMTP Mail Server

The SMTP mail server must be enabled for subscribers to receive system messages.

Disk Space Notification Thresholds

For each partition, you can set the disk usage threshold that triggers a system message to be sent out to subscribers as configured in Administration > Subscribers. Click on the slider and drag to adjust the threshold.

Advanced System Settings

In the Advanced System Settings window, there are two operations available to the administrator that help keep NorthStar’s view of the network (the network model) synchronized with the live network:

  • Sync Network Model

    The Sync Network Model operation refreshes the synchronization of the network model and is appropriate to use if, for example, the network model audit has unresolved discrepancies.

    When you sync the network model, this is what happens behind the scenes:

    1. Information associated with the network model (nodes, links, LSPs, interfaces, SRLGs, and user-defined parameters) remains intact. Nothing is purged from the database.

      Note

      Device profiles are not affected.

    2. NorthStar processes, including the topology server and path computation server processes, are restarted.

    3. The network model is repopulated with live data learned from topology acquisition.

  • Reset Network Model

    Warning

    This operation is typically more appropriate for a lab rather than a production environment.

    The Reset Network Model operation should not be undertaken lightly, but there are two circumstances under which you must reset the network model in order to keep the model in sync with the actual network:

    • The node ISO network entity title (NET) address changes. This can happen when configuration changes are made to support IS-IS.

    • The routing device’s IP address (router ID) changes. The router ID is used by BGP and OSPF to identify the routing device from which a packet originated. The router ID is usually the IP address of the local routing device. If a router ID has not been configured, the IP address of the first interface to come online is used, usually the loopback interface. Otherwise, the first hardware interface with an IP address is used.

    If either of these addresses changes, and you do not perform the Reset Network Model operation, the network model in the NorthStar Controller database becomes out of sync with the live network.

    When you reset the network model, this is what happens behind the scenes:

    1. Information associated with the network model (nodes, links, LSPs, interfaces, SRLGs, and user-defined parameters) is purged from the database (so you would not want to do this unless you have to).

      Note

      Device profiles are not affected.

    2. NorthStar processes, including the topology server and path computation server processes, are restarted.

    3. The network model is repopulated with live data learned from topology acquisition.

Table 2 describes the effects on various elements in the network when you reset or synchronize the model.

Table 2: Effects of Resetting or Synchronizing the Network Model

Is the element removed from the database?

Is the item sent back to the controller by the live network?

Could data be lost?

Reset

Sync

Reset

Sync

Reset

Sync

IP nodes

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

Yes for some design attributes, such as user-defined node name

No

IP links

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

Yes for design attributes such as Comment

No

PCC-controlled LSPs

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

No

No

PCC-delegated LSPs

Yes

No

Yes for PCEP attributes

Yes

Yes for non-PCEP attributes such as design flags

No

PCE-initiated LSPs

Yes

No

Yes for PCEP attributes

Yes

Yes for non-PCEP attributes such as design flags

No

Multilayer nodes

Yes

No

Yes

No

Yes for some designed attributes such as user-defined names

No

Multilayer links

Yes

No

Yes

No

Yes for design attributes such as Comment

No

Interlayer links

Yes

No

No

Yes, links mapped to known nodes are re-sent.

Yes

Yes, access links to unknown nodes are lost and need to be recreated

Multilayer-derived facilities

Yes

No

Yes

No

No

No

Link-derived facilities

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Ongoing maintenance events

No

No

N/A

N/A

No

No

Future maintenance events

Yes

No

N/A

N/A

Yes

No

Ongoing scheduled LSPs

No

No

N/A

N/A

Yes (scheduled LSP is never terminated)

No

Future scheduled LSPs

Yes

No

N/A

N/A

Yes

No

Device profiles

No

No

N/A

N/A

No

No

Router latitude and longitude

No

No

N/A

N/A

No

No

Router grouping

No

No

N/A

N/A

No

No

Users table

No

No

N/A

N/A

No

No

Saved map layout

No

No

N/A

N/A

No

No

Events

No

No

N/A

N/A

No

No

Scheduled path optimization

No

No

N/A

N/A

No

No

Another setting you might associate with synchronization is available by navigating to Administration > Device Profile. The Sync with Live Network button in the Device List window allows you to initialize device profiles with the live network. See Device Profile and Connectivity Testing for more information about this function.