Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

 

Revision Manager (IP Models)

 

The Revision Manager is a powerful tool available in the IP model of NorthStar Planner which allows you to keep track of changes made to router configuration files and certain network project files. Similar to the UNIX “diff” command, the Revision Manager displays a list of the changes made to the current version of the files as compared to the original version. The manager’s functionality includes viewing previous versions of a file, checking in new versions of a file, side-by-side comparison of two files in different versions, and saving the differences in a text file on the client machine.

The Revision Manager also has additional options in the Actions menu in the upper right corner. To switch between network file revision and configuration file revision for Live Networks, use the Actions > Network File Revision and Actions > Config File Revision menus.

  • The configuration revision management is covered in the NorthStar Planner Feature Guide chapter on Configuration Revision.

  • The network file revision tracks changes to the following network project files: bblink, intfmap, nodeparam, pathtable, and tunnel. Note that pseudo-nodes such as AS nodes and Ethernet nodes are ignored for the purpose of the nodeparam file revision.

Figure 204: The Revision Manager Window
The Revision Manager Window

The Revision Manager window is split into three sections. The panel on the left displays all the configuration files in tree view for this particular network model and the number of revisions each configuration file has undergone. The right top section of this window displays the contents of the highlighted file in the left panel.

File versions are listed in incremental order, where the first revision of the file is listed as version 1.1 up to the last revision (in the previous figure, version 1.3).

The current version of the file is listed as “current”. To see the dates of these revisions, select the folder for the configuration file, and the revisions are listed on the right pane in a table with “Last checked-in” times.



Revision Summary



For an overview of all the files in the revision manager, right-click on the left pane and select Revision Summary. This would open a table with the latest revision number and checked in date per file.

Figure 205: Revision Summary
Revision Summary


Compare



The Compare option in the pop-up menu allows you to compare files in the system.



Compare the Selection With Revision...



To compare file and see the differences between any two versions of a config, first select a file version in the left panel and then right click on the mouse and select Compare the selected revision with... and a dialog box will appear listing all versions of the file to be compared with.

Once you have selected the version for comparison, the Revision Manager displays the two versions side-by-side in a table display. In this view, you can browse through the two different versions and compare the difference. Any differences between the two versions are displayed in red text.

Differences are shown by the colored text in the tables. Entries that are marked in RED signify that the line was edited. Entries in GREEN in the older revision file signify that the line was deleted. Entries in BLUE in the newer revision file signify that the line was added.

The padlock symbol in the upper right corner of the second table allows you to “lock” or “unlock” the two table listings together. When the tables are locked, you can use the scroll bars in either table to scroll through the file. Scrolling is synchronized in both tables as you browse through the table. When the tables are not locked, each tables act independently and you can scroll through each table individually.

With the forward, reverse, and save buttons at the bottom of these two tables (as shown in the figure above), you can jump to the next or previous difference in these two versions of the input file (or jump to the last or first difference found in these two file versions). You can also save the difference in a text file on the local machine.

Clicking on the disk button will allow you to the save differences to local text file.



Checking In Input Files



In offline mode, in order to have the Revision Manager to recognize and display the different versions of input files, you must check in these NorthStar Planner input files into the system after saving the network using File > Save Network to the same runcode.



Check In



To check in NorthStar Planner input files, Select the desired file type. Right-click over the left pane and select Check-In. After you have checked in the file, any new versions of the file is displayed in the left panel. You can then perform a file comparison to see the difference between the new version and the previous revision by selecting Compare the selection with revision... function from the pop-up menu.



Check in All NorthStar Planner Files



With this option, you can also check in files by selecting the Check in All NorthStar Planner files function in the pop-up menu. By doing so, any new MPLSView input files that have been changed since the last revision is checked into the system.



Remove the Last Check In



This option will remove the last file version that was checked into the revision system.



Retrieve Configurations By Time Stamp



To retrieve configuration files by time stamp, right-click in the left-hand side panel and select Retrieve all by timestamp. Select the date and time for which to retrieve the configuration files, and Browse to select the directory in which to retrieve the configuration files. A new directory can be created using the Directory Chooser dialog, if necessary.

The Selection tab can be used to retrieve only configuration files which are marked with a checkbox. Right-click in the window and select Uncheck All or Check All.



Purge Revisions



Over time, the amount of data stored may accumulate and it may be desirable to remove older versions of files. Select Actions > Schedule revision purge in order to purge revisions older than 1 Month, 2 Months, 3 Months, 6 Months, or 1 Year.