Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Guide That Contains This Content
[+] Expand All
[-] Collapse All

    log destination


    To specify the destination and severity of messages logged:

    log destination { console | nv-file | syslog ipAddress [ facility facilityId ] }
    { severity { severityValue | severityNumber } | off }

    no log destination [ console | nv-file | syslog [ ipAddress ] ]

    To specify which event categories are logged to syslog:

    log destination syslog ipAddress { include | exclude } category [ category ]*

    no log destination syslog ipAddress { include | exclude } [ category ]*

    Release Information

    Command introduced before JunosE Release 7.1.0.


    Configures the logging of system messages. You can direct messages to a destination, limit the messages logged based on severity level, or limit the event categories for which messages are logged. The no versions restore default settings or reverse the effect of previous commands that limited event categories.

    Note: You can display traffic logs—such as ipTraffic, icmpTraffic, tcpTraffic, and udpTraffic—only via the show log data command or from the SRP module console. You cannot redirect traffic logs elsewhere, such as to a system log or nonvolatile storage file, or to a Telnet session.


    • console—Configures or modifies logging to the local console
    • nv-file—Configures or modifies logging to the nonvolatile log file; the nv-file can accept only events at a severity level of critical or higher in importance
    • syslog—Configures or modifies logging to a system log server
    • ipAddress—IP address of the system log application on a remote host
    • facility—Specifies the system log facility on the host
    • facilityId—Number in the range 0–7 that identifies the corresponding logging facility, local0–local7
    • severity—Sets minimum severity of the log messages displayed; described either by a descriptive term—severityValue—or by a corresponding number—severityNumber—in the range 0–7. The lower the number, the higher the priority:
      • emergency or 0—System unusable
      • alert or 1—Immediate action needed
      • critical or 2—Critical condition exists
      • error or 3—Error condition
      • warning or 4—Warning condition
      • notice or 5—Normal but significant condition
      • info or 6—Informational message
      • debug or 7—Debug message
    • off—Disables logging to this destination
    • include—Sends only the specified event categories to the system log server
    • exclude—Sends all event categories except those specified to the system log server

      Issuing an includecommand after an excludecommand (or vice versa) overrides the earlier command.

      You can issue successive includecommands or successive excludecommands. Successive commands expand the list of included or excluded categories.

    • category—Log category; refer to the CLI online Help for available options
    • *—Indicates that one or more parameters can be repeated multiple times in a list in the command line


    Global Configuration

    Published: 2014-08-14