Rescue Configuration

 

A rescue configuration is the known working configuration. If the active configuration is corrupted, the device automatically loads the rescue configuration file as the active configuration. For more information, see the following topics:

Creating and Returning to a Rescue Configuration

A rescue configuration allows you to define a known working configuration or a configuration with a known state that you can roll back to at any time. This alleviates the necessity of having to remember the rollback number with the rollback command. You use the rescue configuration when you need to roll back to a known configuration or as a last resort if your router or switch configuration and the backup configuration files become damaged beyond repair.

To save the most recently committed configuration as the rescue configuration so that you can return to it at any time, issue the request system configuration rescue save command:

To return to the rescue configuration, use the rollback rescue configuration mode command:

Note

If the rescue configuration does not exist, or if the rescue configuration is not a complete, viable configuration, then the rollback command fails, an error message appears, and the current configuration remains active.

To activate the rescue configuration that you have loaded, use the commit command:

To delete an existing rescue configuration, issue the request system configuration rescue delete command:

For more information about the request system configuration rescue delete and request system configuration rescue save commands, see the CLI Explorer.

Reverting to the Rescue Configuration

If someone inadvertently commits a configuration that denies management access to a device and the console port is not accessible, you can overwrite the invalid configuration and replace it with the rescue configuration. The rescue configuration is a previously committed, valid configuration.

To revert the switch to the rescue configuration:

  1. Enter the load override command.
  2. Commit your changes.

Reverting to the Rescue Configuration for the EX Series Switch

If someone inadvertently commits a configuration that denies management access to an EX Series switch and the console port is not accessible, you can overwrite the invalid configuration and replace it with the rescue configuration by using the LCD panel on the switch. The rescue configuration is a previously committed, valid configuration.

You can also revert to the default factory configuration, as described in Reverting to the Default Factory Configuration for the EX Series Switch.

Before you begin to revert to the rescue configuration:

  • Ensure that you have physical access to the switch.

  • A rescue configuration for the switch must have been previously set.

To revert the switch to the rescue configuration:

  1. At the LCD panel on the switch, press Menu until you see MAINTENANCE MENU.
  2. Press Enter.
  3. Press Menu until you see Load Rescue.
  4. Press Enter.
  5. When Commit Rescue is displayed, press Enter.

    The LCD panel displays the message Commit Rescue in Progress. When the reversion is complete, it displays the idle menu.

    Note

    If there is no rescue configuration saved on the switch, the message Commit rescue failed is displayed.

Setting or Deleting the Rescue Configuration

A rescue configuration is a user-defined configuration that restores connectivity to the device. You set a current committed configuration to be the rescue configuration through the CLI. If someone inadvertently commits a configuration that denies management access to a device and the console port is not accessible, you can overwrite the invalid configuration and replace it with the rescue configuration. The rescue configuration is a previously committed, valid configuration. We recommend that the rescue configuration include the IP address (accessible from the network) for the management port.

To set the current active configuration as the rescue configuration:



To delete an existing rescue configuration: