Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Versioning for Dynamic Profiles

 

Enabling Dynamic Profiles to Use Multiple Versions

You can create new versions of dynamic profiles that are currently in use by subscribers. Any subscriber that logs in following a dynamic profile modification uses the latest version of the dynamic profile. Subscribers that are already active continue to use the older version of the dynamic profile until they log out or their session terminates.

Note

You must enable or disable dynamic profile version creation before creating or using any dynamic profiles on the router. Enabling or disabling dynamic profile version creation after dynamic profiles are configured is not supported.

To configure versioning for dynamic profiles:

  1. Access the router system hierarchy level.
  2. Access the global dynamic profile options.
  3. Enable version creation for dynamic profiles on the router.

Modifying Dynamic Profiles with Versioning Disabled

You use dynamic profiles to configure large groups of subscribers. However, after you have configured and applied dynamic profiles, be cautious when modifying any dynamic profiles that are in use by active subscribers on the router if you have not enabled the router to use dynamic profile versioning. This section provides guidelines and procedures for modifying existing profiles and applying them to subscriber interfaces if dynamic profile versioning is not enabled on the router.

When modifying dynamic profiles, keep the following considerations in mind:

  • Do not modify a dynamic profile when dynamic profile versioning is disabled and the dynamic profile is in use by active subscribers.

  • Modifying a dynamic profile when dynamic profile versioning is disabled and when the dynamic profile is in use by active subscribers can lead to unpredictable behavior.

When a dynamic profile is modified and committed when dynamic profile versioning is not enabled, the router:

  1. Logs a warning that the profiles are being modified and committed.
  2. Determines whether the profile is currently being use by any subscriber.
  3. If the profile is in use by a subscriber, the commit fails and the router logs errors to report the conflict.

We recommend that you only modify dynamic profiles when you have enabled dynamic profile versioning on the router. However, to properly modify a dynamic profile when dynamic profile versioning is disabled on the router:

  1. Ensure that no subscribers are using the dynamic profile.
  2. Create a new dynamic profile with a different name that contains the desired changes:

    Original Profile

    Original DHCP Configuration

    New Profile

    Modified DHCP Configuration

  3. Commit the configuration containing the modified profile.

    The modified profile is used for any new subscribers that access the router.

Related Documentation