Using the Commit Options to Commit Configuration Changes (J-Web Procedure)

 

You can use the single-commit feature to commit all outstanding configuration changes in the J-Web interface on EX Series switches simultaneously. This helps in reducing the time J-Web takes for committing configurations because when changes are committed at every step, rollback configurations pile up.

For example, suppose you want to delete a firewall filter and add a new one. With immediate commits, you would need to commit your changes twice for this action. Using single commit, you can decrease the number of commits to one, thus saving time for working on other configurations.

When you edit a configuration, you work on a copy of the current configuration, which is your candidate configuration. The changes you make to the candidate configuration are visible through the user interface immediately, allowing other users to edit those configurations, but they do not take effect on the switch until you commit the changes. When you commit the configuration, the candidate file is checked for proper syntax, activated, and marked as the current, operational software configuration file. If multiple users are editing the configuration when you commit the candidate configuration, changes made by all users take effect.

You can configure the commit options to either commit all configuration changes together or commit each configuration change immediately using the J-Web Commit Preference page.

Note

There are some pages on which configuration changes must be committed immediately. For such pages, if you configure the commit options for a single commit, the system displays warning notifications that remind you to commit your changes immediately. An example of such a page is the Interface Page (Configure > Interface).

To configure the commit options on an EX Series switch using the J-Web interface:

  1. Select Commit Options.Note

    All action links except Preference are disabled unless you edit, add, or delete a configuration.

  2. Choose an action. See Table 1 for details on the actions.
  3. Configure the commit options by selecting Preference. See Table 2 for details on preference options.

Table 1: Commit Options

Menu Item

Function

Your Action

Commit

Commits the candidate configuration of the current user session, along with changes from other user sessions.

  1. Select Commit Options > Commit.

    Changes are committed after the system validates your configuration. A window displays that the configuration was successfully committed or that the commit failed.

  2. Click OK.

    Click Details to view the commit log.

Compare

Displays the XML log of pending uncommitted configurations on the device.

  1. Select Commit Options > Compare.

    The XML log of pending configurations on the devices are displayed similar to the CLI interface, in a “human-readable” form.

  2. Click Close.

Discard

Discards the candidate configuration of your current session, along with changes from other user sessions.

  1. Select Commit Options > Discard.
  2. Click OK to confirm the discard action.

    Your changes are discarded after the system validates your configuration.

Preference

Indicates your choice of committing all global configurations together or committing each configuration change immediately.

  1. Select Commit Options > Preference. The Commit Preference page is displayed.
  2. Configure the commit options by selecting your preference. See Table 2 for details on preference options.

Table 2: Commit Preference Options

Option

Function

Validate and commit configuration changes

Sets the system to validate and force an immediate commit on every screen after every configuration change.

Validate configuration changes

Loads all the configuration changes for an accumulated single commit. If there are errors in loading the configuration, the errors are logged. This is the default mode.

Once you select this option, you need to select Commit Options > Commit to commit your changes.