Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Navigation
Guide That Contains This Content
[+] Expand All
[-] Collapse All

    Automatically Logging Out DHCP Clients

    You can configure the extended DHCP local server to automatically log out DHCP clients. Auto logout immediately releases an existing client when DHCP receives a discover packet that has the same DHCP option 60 and DHCP option 82 information as the existing client. DHCP then releases the existing client IP address without waiting for the normal lease expiration.

    Note: When the existing client is released, the new client undergoes the normal discovery process. The new client might not receive the same IP address as the original client.

    To configure DHCP client auto logout:

    1. Specify that you want to configure override options.
      [edit system services dhcp-local-server]
      user@host# edit overrides
    2. Enable auto logout.
      [edit system services dhcp-local-server overrides]
      user@host# set client-discover-match

    In a routing instance, you can configure DHCP client auto logout at the [edit routing-instances routing-instance-name system services dhcp-local-server overrides] hierarchy level.

    Note: If you change the auto logout configuration, existing clients continue to use the auto logout setting that was configured when they logged in. New clients use the new setting.

    Modified: 2017-09-13