Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Guide That Contains This Content
[+] Expand All
[-] Collapse All

    Layer 2 Networking Standards

    For additional information about the Layer 2 networking features available on Juniper Networks MX Series 3D Universal Edge Router, see the following references:

    • 802.1ad—IEEE standard Provider Bridges .
    • 802.1ag—IEEE standard Connectivity Fault Management.
    • 802.1ah—IEEE standard Provider Backbone Bridges.
    • 802.1p—IEEE draft standard Wireless Access in Vehicular Environments.
    • 802.1Q—IEEE standard Provider Backbone Bridge Traffic Engineering.
    • 802.3ah-2004—IEEE standard Operations Administration, and Management (OAM) for link fault management (LFM), or simple connectivity fault management (CFM) at the data link layer. Also known as “Ethernet in the First Mile (EFM)” and EFM-OAM.
    • 802.3-2008, Clause 57—IEEE standard Operations Administration, and Maintenance (OAM). Incorporates 802.3ah-2004 within the IEEE standard Carrier sense multiple access with Collision Detection (CSMA/CD) Access Method and Physical Layer Specifications.
    • RFC 4761—IETF draft Virtual Private LAN Service (VPLS) Using BGP for Auto-discovery and Signaling.
    • RFC 4762—IETF draft Virtual Private LAN Service (VPLS) Using Label Distribution Protocol (LDP) Signaling.
    • Y.1731—ITU-T recommendation OAM Functions and Mechanisms for Ethernet-based Networks.
    • OSI-RM—Open Systems Interconnection Reference Model.

    Modified: 2017-09-13