Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Job Management Using User Groups

 

A job is an action that is performed on any object that is managed by Junos Space, such as a device, service, or user. The Jobs workspace lets you monitor the status of jobs that have run or are scheduled to run, in Junos Space Network Management Platform and all installed Junos Space applications. Jobs can be scheduled to run immediately or in the future.

By default, when you log in as a non-administrator, you can view only your own jobs, which include jobs triggered by you as well as jobs reassigned to you. However, at the time of creation or modification of a user account or remote profile, a User Administrator, can explicitly configure the user account or remote profile to view all jobs triggered by all users across all applications.

Note

By default, a user with the Super Administrator or Job Administrator role can view all jobs triggered by all users across all applications.

Junos Space Network Management Platform supports job visibility in the following two ways:

  • View User’s Own Jobs Only—Enables the users to view the jobs created by them or assigned to them.

  • View All Jobs—Enables the user to view all the jobs.

For more information on jobs and job management, see Jobs Overview.

The following section discusses various cases of job visibility for users assigned to user groups.

Job Visibility for User Assigned to User Group(s)

Users assigned to a user group can view all the jobs created by, or assigned to all users in the user group. You can view the user groups to which a user is assigned in two ways:

  • For Super Administrator or User Administrator—Go to Role Based Access Control > User Groups page and click on a user group name. The details of the user group appears on the right side of the page. In the table on the lower part of the page, the Assigned Groups column in page displays the user groups to which each user is assigned to. If a user is assigned to more than one user group, a hyper-link Multiple Groups appears in the Assigned Groups column for that user. Click Multiple Groups and Groups assigned to the User page appears. This page lists the user groups to which the user is assigned.

  • For all users—Go to Jobs > Job Management page. The jobs associated to the user appears on the page. In the table, the Groups column in page displays the user groups to which each user is assigned to. If a user is assigned to more than one user group, the user groups are displayed as a comma separated list.

For example, user group Sample contains two users—user A and user B. In this case, both user A can view the jobs created or assigned to user A and user B. Similarly, User B will also be able to view jobs associated with user A and user B. Consider that user A has View All Jobs permission and user B has View User’s Own Jobs Only permission.

When user A and user B are assigned to user group Sample, job visibility behavior is as follows:

Note

By default, both user A and user B will be able to view all the jobs associated with user group Sample, regardless of their job visibility permissions.

  • Job Visibility for user A (View All Jobs permission)—User A can view only the jobs associated with the user group Sample, despite having View All Jobs permission. That is, being assigned to a user group restricts user A’s job visibility to only view the jobs associated with the user group.

    If user A wants to view all the jobs (not just jobs associated with user group Sample), user A must perform the following steps:

    1. On the Junos Space Platform UI, click the User Settings icon on the right side of the Junos Space banner.

      The Change User Settings dialog box appears.

    2. Select the Group Visibility tab.

      The Group Visibility tab appears. By default, the Enable Group Visibility check box is selected.

    3. Clear Enable Group Visibility check box and click OK.

    User A will now be able to view all the jobs created in the system.

  • Job Visibility for user B (View User’s Own Jobs Only permission)—User B can view all the jobs associated with the user group Sample, despite having View User’s Own Jobs Only permission. That is, even though user B’s job visibility permission only allows him to view only his jobs, being assigned to a user group allows user B to view all the jobs associated with the user group.

    If user B wants to view only his own jobs (not jobs associated with user group Sample), user B must perform the following steps:

    1. On the Junos Space Platform UI, click the User Settings icon on the right side of the Junos Space banner.

      The Change User Settings dialog box appears.

    2. Select the Group Visibility tab.

      The Group Visibility tab appears. By default, the Enable Group Visibility check box is selected.

    3. Clear Enable Group Visibility check box and click OK.

    User B will now be able to view only his own jobs.