Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Managing Roles

 

A role is a specific set of tasks that can be assigned to users in Junos Space Network Management Platform. Junos Space Platform provides predefined roles, as well as the provision to create user-defined roles, that can both be assigned to users. A Super Administrator or User Administrator can view all predefined and user-defined roles on the Role Based Access Control > Roles inventory page and create new user-defined roles if required.

Viewing User Role Details

The Roles inventory page displays all predefined and user-defined roles in tabular format.

Roles are listed in the table in ascending alphabetical order. The columns indicate the role title, type (that is, predefined or custom), description, and tasks assigned. You can show or hide table columns and sort records in ascending or descending order.

You can search for roles by typing the first letters of the role title in the search box. Role titles starting with the first letters you type are listed.

To view a user role detail summary:

  1. On the Junos Space Network Management Platform user interface, select Role Based Access Control > Roles.

    The Roles page appears.

  2. Double-click a role.

    The Role Detail Summary page that appears displays the workspace and workspace tasks assigned to that role.

  3. Click the expander button + adjacent to the workspaces to view subtasks.
  4. Click OK on the Role Detail Summary page to exit this page.

    You are returned to the Roles page.

Managing Predefined and User-Defined Roles

You can manage predefined and user-defined roles by selecting a task from the Actions menu or the shortcut menu that is displayed when you right-click a role, or by clicking the icons at the top of the Roles page. You can perform the Modify Role and Delete Roles actions only on user-defined roles. You cannot manipulate read-only predefined roles. To perform an action, you must first select the role.

You can perform one or more of the following actions by using the Roles page:

  • View Role Details—View details about the selected role.

  • Modify Role—For selected user-defined roles, modify the description, application workspaces, and tasks assigned to the role. You cannot modify predefined roles. For more information, see Modifying User-Defined Roles.

  • Delete Roles—Delete the selected user-defined roles. You cannot delete predefined roles. For more information, see Deleting User-Defined Roles.

  • Clone Roles—Clone the selected user-defined or predefined roles. For more information, see Cloning Predefined and User-Defined Roles.

  • Tag It—Tag one or more selected inventory objects. For more information, see Tagging an Object.

  • View Tags—View a list of tags applied to a selected inventory object. For more information, see Viewing Tags for a Managed Object.

  • Untag It—Remove tags that are applied to inventory objects. For more information, see Untagging Objects.

  • Delete Private Tags—Delete tags that you created.

  • Clear All Selections—Clear all role selections you made on the Roles inventory page.

  • Display Quick View—View a small window summarizing data about the selected object.