Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Navigation
Guide That Contains This Content
[+] Expand All
[-] Collapse All

    Starting, Stopping, and Restarting Services

    This topic describes how to start, stop, and restart Network Monitoring (that is, the network monitoring services). Currently, Network Monitoring is the only service that can be managed this way.

    Service management operations—start, stop, restart—are applied on all the nodes that run the service.

    The service management actions generate audit log entries.

    The Super Administrator and System Administrator predefined roles have the permissions to manage services; the corresponding action is Manage Services. If a user does not have a role that includes this action, the Manage Services option is not available.

    The following table describes the consequences of performing these three actions:

    Table 1: Starting, Stopping, and Restarting Network Monitoring

    Action

    Consequences

    Stop

    Network Monitoring service is stopped on all nodes.

    Even if VIP failover is performed, service remains stopped on all nodes.

    The synchronization of network monitoring data is disabled.

    Even after adding a new node, the network monitoring service remains stopped.

    Rebooting Junos Space Network Management Platform does not restart a service.

    Start, Restart

    Network Monitoring service starts only on the VIP node.

    All the devices displayed on the Devices page are discovered by the network monitoring functionality. The SNMP trap targets are correct.

    All the users displayed on the Users page are added to network monitoring.

    E-mail and remote server settings are added to network monitoring.

    All Junos Space nodes are monitored by the network monitoring functionality.

    The service continues to be operational even if Junos Space Network Management Platform is rebooted.

    Start, Stop, Restart when no service is selected

    An error message is displayed: No service selected.

    Note: The following firewall ports should be closed on stopping the network monitoring service:

    • UDP
      • 162
      • 514
      • 5813
    • TCP
    • 5813
    • 18980

    Note: Any devices added while the Network Monitoring service is stopped must be manually resynchronized from the Network Monitoring workspace after the service is restarted.

    To start, stop, or restart network monitoring services:

    1. Select Administration > Applications.

      The Applications inventory page appears.

    2. Select Network Management Platform and select Manage Services from the Actions menu.

      The Manage Services page appears, showing the names of the services that can be managed this way (currently, Network Monitoring is the only item on this list), and the Start, Stop, and Restart buttons, as well as a table displaying the following information:

      Column Heading

      Content

      Service Name

      Name of service that can be started, stopped or restarted

      Running Version

      Version of the service that is currently running

      Status

      Current status: Enabled or Disabled

    3. Select Network Monitoring from the list, and select the relevant button for a currently enabled service: Start Service, Restart Service, or Stop Service.

      One of four messages appears:

      • If you select a service that is currently running, then select Stop Service, you will receive this message:
        Confirm Stop Service: Do you really want to stop the service?
      • If you select a service that has been disabled, then select Restart Service, you will receive this message:
        Warning: Sorry, cannot proceed with the request, as the Service is not in Enabled state.
      • If you select a service that has been disabled, then select Start Service, you will receive this message:
        Warning: Sorry, Network Monitoring cannot be started once it is stopped.
      • If you select a service that has been disabled, then select Stop Service, you will receive this message:
        Warning: Sorry, cannot proceed with the request, as the Service is already in Disabled state.
    4. In all cases, you can click only OK.

      You first receive a message indicating that the relevant action is being performed. This is followed by a second status message indicating whether the operation you performed was successful or not.

    5. Click OK to confirm.

      The Manage Services page reappears, displaying the changed status of the selected service.

    Modified: 2017-06-14