Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Navigation
Guide That Contains This Content
[+] Expand All
[-] Collapse All

    Deleting Junos Space Network Management Platform Database Backup Files

    The System Administrator can delete archived database backup files that are no longer useful for restore operations.

    Note:

    • From Junos Space Network Management Platform Release 15.1R1 onward, Junos Space Platform provides a built-in purging policy that enables you purge database backup files automatically based on a specified disk usage threshold or at regularly scheduled intervals. For more information, see Junos Space Purging Policy and Purging Categories Overview.
    • When you delete a database backup file from the Database Backup and Restore inventory page, the backup file is permanently deleted from Junos Space Platform and cannot be retrieved or restored.
    • In a multinode setup, the selected backup file may exist on both the primary and secondary nodes. The Machine column on the Database Backup and Restore page reflects the IP addresses of these nodes where the backup file is stored. In such cases where the same backup file exists on more than one node, when you delete a backup file, the backup file is deleted from both the nodes.

    To delete a Junos Space Platform database backup file:

    1. On the Junos Space Platform UI, select Administration > Database Backup and Restore.

      The Database Backup and Restore page appears.

    2. From the Database Backup and Restore page tabular view, select one or more database backup files that you want to delete.
    3. (Optional) View the database backup file detailed information before deleting the file. Detailed database backup file information appears as columns in the table.
    4. Click the Delete Backup icon on the toolbar.

      Junos Space Platform deletes the selected Junos Space Platform database backup files. The deleted backup files are no longer displayed on the inventory page and are deleted from the /var/cache/jboss/backup directory if it is a local backup operation or from the remote location for a remote backup operation.

    Caution: When you delete a local backup file, if the backup file is present on both the primary and secondary nodes, then this file is deleted from both the nodes.

    When you delete a database backup file, an audit log entry is automatically generated and details about the deleted file is recorded.

    To obtain details about the backup files that were deleted from an audit log entry:

    1. On the Junos Space Platform user interface, select Audit Logs > Audit Log.

      The Audit Log inventory page appears, displaying all log entries in a table.

    2. Filter data in the Task column by using the Delete Backup keyword.

      The Audit Log page displays only the audit log entries that were generated when the database backup files were deleted.

    3. Double-click an audit log entry.

      The Audit Log Detail page appears. On this page, the Affected Objects section displays the list of database backup files that were deleted and the Affected Object Detail section displays details about each database backup file.

    4. Click OK on the Audit Log Detail page to exit this page.

      You are returned to the Audit Log page.

    Modified: 2017-06-14