Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Navigation
Guide That Contains This Content
[+] Expand All
[-] Collapse All

    Deleting Users

    When a Junos Space Network Management Platform user leaves your organization or no longer needs access to the system, the administrator should delete the existing user account.

    To delete one or more users:

    1. On the Junos Space Network Management Platform user interface, select Role Based Access Control > User Accounts.

      The User Accounts inventory page appears, displaying all user accounts in a table.

    2. Select one or more users to delete.
    3. From the menu bar above the table, click the Delete Users icon.

      The Delete Users confirmation dialog box appears displaying only users with no pending jobs.

    4. Retain the selection of the Exclude users who have jobs in scheduled or inprogress state check box, if you do not want to delete users who have initiated jobs that are in progress or who have scheduled jobs. That is, when you retain the selection of this check box, you delete only users with no pending jobs.

      Note: You might notice that some of the users you selected for deletion do not appear in the Delete Users Confirmation dialog box. This is because these local and remote users are assigned to scheduled, in progress, or recurring jobs and are by default excluded from deletion. To delete these users, you need to clear the Exclude users who have jobs in scheduled or inprogress state check box. When this check box is cleared, these users appear in the dialog box and are deleted when you click Delete. The Jobs Scheduled/Inprogress column in the Delete Users Confirmation dialog box displays Yes for users who have scheduled jobs or who have initiated jobs that are in progress.

      Before you delete users with pending jobs, reassign these jobs to other active users within the same domain so as to ensure that these jobs are monitored and successfully completed. For example, reassign a recurring database backup job owned by UserA to UserB before deleting UserA. For more information about reassigning jobs, see Reassigning Jobs.

    5. Verify the list of users that you want to delete and click Delete. This button is disabled if there are no users to delete.

      All selected user accounts that are displayed in the Delete Users Confirmation dialog box are removed from the Junos Space Network Management Platform database and the User Accounts inventory page.

    Deleting users generates an audit log entry. The audit log entry records the users that were deleted.

    To obtain details from an audit log entry about users who were deleted:

    1. On the Junos Space Network Management Platform user interface, select Audit Logs > Audit Log.

      The Audit Log inventory page appears, displaying all log entries in a table.

    2. Filter data in the Task column by using the Delete Users keyword.

      After filtering, the Audit Log page displays only the audit log entries that were generated when users were deleted.

    3. Double-click an audit-log entry.

      The Audit Log Detail page appears. On this page, the Affected Objects section displays the list of users who were deleted and the Affected Object Detail section displays details about the deleted user.

    4. Click OK on the Audit Log Detail page to exit this page.

      You are returned to the Audit Log page.

    Modified: 2017-06-01