Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Navigation
Guide That Contains This Content
[+] Expand All
[-] Collapse All

    Configuring Users to Manage Objects in Junos Space Overview

    Junos Space Network Management Platform is shipped with a Super Administrator privilege level that provides full access to the Junos Space system. When you first log in to Junos Space Network Management Platform as default Super Administrator, you can perform all tasks and access all Junos Space system resources. Super Administrator can create users and assign roles to those users to specify which workspaces and system resources the users can access and manage, and which tasks the users can perform within each workspace.

    After you first set up Junos Space Network Management Platform, you can disable the default Super Administrator user ID, if necessary. However, before doing so, you should first create another user with Super Administrator privileges.

    To access and manage Junos Space system resources, a user must be assigned at least one role. A role defines the tasks (create, modify, delete) that can be performed on the objects (devices, users, roles, configlets, scripts, services, customers) that Junos Space Network Management Platform manages. For more information about roles, see Roles Overview.

    Users receive permission to perform tasks only through the roles that they are assigned. In most cases, a single role assignment enables a user to view and to perform tasks on the objects within a workspace. For example, a user assigned the Device Manager role can discover devices, resynchronize devices, view the physical inventory and interfaces for devices, and delete managed devices. A user that is assigned the User Administrator role can create, modify, and delete other users in Junos Space, and assign and remove roles.

    If you modify a role assigned to a user when the user is logged in, the change becomes effective only when the user initiates another session. Changes in a role do not impact existing user sessions. This is applicable for both API and GUI user sessions.

    Typically, a role contains one or more task groups. A task group provides a mechanism for grouping a set of related tasks that can be performed on a specific object.



    Note: You can assign multiple roles to a single user, and multiple users can be assigned the same role.

    Modified: 2016-11-23