Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

Managing Generated Reports

 

After a report definition is created and the initial report is run, Network Director populates the Generated Reports page with summary information about the run of the report.

From the Generated Reports page you can view the report details, export the report to view or store in a new location, or delete the report.

This topic describes:

Reviewing Generated Reports

After a reports runs, information about the report is recorded on the Generated Reports page, as shown in Table 1.

Table 1: Fields in the Generated Reports Page

Field

Description

Report Definition

The name assigned at report creation time.

Executed By

The userid of the report owner who ran the report.

Start Time

When the report began to run.

End Time

When the report ended.

Format

The chosen report format, possible values are PDF, CSV, or HTML.

Generated Report

Links to view or download the report.

From the Generated Reports page, you can either select the check box in the heading to select all of the reports or select the check box for the individual reports and:

  • View details about the running of the report by clicking Report Details.

  • Export the report by clicking Export.

  • Delete the report by clicking Delete.

Viewing Report Details

Use the Generated Report Details window to see information about the report composition. Viewing the Report Details is helpful when a report comprises many smaller reports. See Table 2 for these field descriptions.

Table 2: Generated Report Details

Field

Description

Report Definition Name

The name assigned at report creation time.

Executed By

The userid of the report owner who ran the report.

Start Time

When the report began to run.

End Time

When the report ended.

Format

The chosen report format, possible values are PDF, CSV, or HTML.

Generated Report

This link opens the Report Details window where you can view or download the report.

Reports are kept on the application server until either you delete them or they are deleted by the system. The amount of time a report is saved on the system depends on the report retention settings for Network Director. Network Administrators can globally set the report retention period for reports in the system Preferences, located in the Network Director banner.

Exporting Reports

Use the Export Report window to store multiple reports to a file location. Because reports can be large, they are delivered as compressed zipped files for both viewing or storing. After you choose a report to export, you are prompted to select a program to view the report or to download the file.

You can either unzip the report for viewing or save the report to a file location.

Tip

If you choose to save the file, you might want to give a unique name to the unzipped file. After unzipping the report, the name of the report reverts to the type of report you selected. It does not retain the name of the report.

Deleting Generated Reports

Use Delete to discard unneeded or outdated reports. When you click Delete, you are prompted to confirm the file deletion. Because deleted reports cannot be recovered, save the report offline before deleting them from the system.