Editing, Cloning, and Deleting User-Defined Roles for Tenant Users

You can edit and delete custom (user-defined) roles for tenant users from the Roles page. This topic has the following sections:

Note You cannot modify or delete the predefined roles.

Editing Roles

Procedure

To modify the parameters configured for a role.

  1. Select Administration > Roles.

    The Roles page appears, displaying the existing role names.

  2. Select the role that you want to edit and click the edit icon (pencil) to modify the parameters.

    The Edit Role page appears. The fields on the Edit Role page are available for editing.

    Note You cannot modify the role name and role scope.

  3. Modify the role description and privileges as needed.
  4. Click OK to save the changes.

    A confirmation message appears, indicating the status of the edit operation.

Cloning Roles

Procedure

You can clone a role (both custom and predefined) when you want to quickly create a copy of an existing role and modify its access privileges.

Note You cannot modify the role name and role scope.

  1. Select Administration > Roles.

    The Roles page appears, displaying the existing role names.

  2. Select the role that you want to clone and then click the Clone button at the top-right corner of the page.

    The Clone Role: Role-Name page appears.

  3. Specify an appropriate name for the new clone role.
  4. Click OK to save your changes.

    A confirmation message appears, indicating the status of the clone operation.

    The name of the clone role is displayed on the Roles page.

  5. Select the new clone role and click the edit icon (pencil) to modify its parameters.

    The Edit Role page appears.

  6. Select the objects, and modify the access privileges of the role, as needed.
  7. Click OK to save your changes.

    A confirmation message appears, indicating the status of the edit operation.

Deleting Roles

Procedure

To delete a role name:

  1. Select Administration > Roles.

    The Roles page appears, displaying the existing role names.

  2. Select the role name that you want to delete and then click the delete icon (X).

    An alert message appears, asking you to confirm the delete operation.

  3. Click Yes to delete the selected role name.

    A confirmation message appears, indicating the status of the delete operation.