Help us improve your experience.

Let us know what you think.

Do you have time for a two-minute survey?

 

Upgrading Sites Overview

 

When you upgrade Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO), the existing sites continue to have the functionality of earlier releases. However, there might be changes in:

  • Device templates

  • Image version of a device

  • Application configurations (For example, SD-WAN policies)

  • Stage-1 and Stage-2 configurations of a device

For CSO to support the latest features in sites that were created in earlier releases, you must upgrade the existing sites to the new CSO version. You can upgrade a single site, select sites, or upgrade all sites simultaneously. In on-premises and CSOaaS deployments, it is recommended that the order of upgrade is CSO, followed by the provider hub in the Administration Portal, enterprise hub (if added) in the Customer Portal, and spoke sites in the Customer Portal.

Tenant Administrators can upgrade a site from the Site Management page. The Site Management page provides information about sites that must be upgraded and sites for which the upgrade is optional.

In the Site Management page, the following two new columns have been added to indicate whether a site upgrade is mandatory or optional:

  • Site Status—Indicates the status of the site. If the site status is Provisioned, the upgrade is optional. If the site status is UPGRADE-REQUIRED, the site upgrade is mandatory. You cannot upgrade a site if the site status is Created, Provision Failed, Configured, and Activation Failed.

  • Version—Indicates the CSO release number in which the site was created.

Note

In on-premises and CSOaaS deployments, ensure that the latest version of device image is available in CSO before you upgrade sites. See Upgrading Sites for more information.

If you create a site in a release that is tagged as a Long Term Support (LTS) release, the site remains functional in the subsequent two LTS releases. For example, if you have created a site in Release X.2 (LTS release), upgrading the site in Release (X+1).2 and Release (X+2).2 is optional, while it is mandatory to upgrade the site in Release (X+3).2.

If you have created a site in a non-LTS release, the site remains functional in the successive release only. For example if you have created a site in Release X.0 (non-LTS), upgrading the site in Release X.1 is optional, while it is mandatory to upgrade the site in Release X.2.

Related Documentation