Guide That Contains This Content
[+] Expand All
[-] Collapse All

    Using the Reset Config Button on the SRX220 Services Gateway

    If a configuration fails or denies management access to the services gateway, you can use the Reset Config button to restore the device to the factory-default configuration or a rescue configuration. For example, if someone inadvertently commits a configuration that denies management access to a services gateway, you can delete the invalid configuration and replace it with a rescue configuration by pressing the Reset Config button.

    Note: The Reset Config button is recessed to prevent it from being pressed accidentally.

    The rescue configuration is a previously committed, valid configuration. You must have previously set the rescue configuration through the J-Web interface or the CLI.

    To press the Reset Config button, insert a small probe (such as a straightened paper clip) into the pinhole on the front panel.

    • By default, pressing and quickly releasing the Reset Config button loads and commits the rescue configuration through the J-Web interface or the CLI. The Status LED is solid amber during this time.
    • By default, pressing and holding the Reset Config button for 15 seconds or more—until the Status LED is solid amber — deletes all configurations on the device, including the backup configurations and rescue configuration, and loads and commits the factory configuration.

      For details about factory-default settings, see the following topics:

    Published: 2013-06-23